The Galeria Municipal do Porto hosts a regular programme of exhibitions and events dedicated to the contemporary visual arts, also developing specific projects in design and architecture. With the mission of presenting exhibitions that reflect on recent trends in contemporary artistic and discursive production, we promote research, exchange and dissemination of ideas stimulating debate surrounding the arts.
Since relaunching its institutional mission in 2014, the Galeria Municipal do Porto has worked with a wide range of national and international partners in the programming and commissioning of exhibitions, performances and discussions, also stimulating long-term engagement through its learning and editorial programmes.
The Galeria Municipal do Porto has free admission and the support of EDP Foundation as the main patron.

The Galeria Municipal do Porto is a project by the City Council of Porto with free admission.
Free entry

Opening times
Tuesday - Saturday


Closed on Mondays and Public Holidays

Rua D. Manuel II
(Jardins do Palácio de Cristal)
4050-346 Porto

+351 226 081 063


Rui Moreira

Artistic Director
Guilherme Blanc

Executive Director
Sílvia Fernandes

Senior Curator
Juan Luis Toboso

Education Service Programmer
Matilde Seabra

Curatorial Assistant
Isabeli Santiago

Production Coordinator
Patrícia Vaz

Technical Coordinator
Paulo Coelho

Communication Coordinator
Lídia Queirós

Communication Adviser

Tiago Dias dos Santos
Installation and Production Support
Armando Amorim
Carlos Lopes
David Teixeira


General Director of Department of Culture
Francisca Carneiro Fernandes

  • Patron:

  • Commissioned by:

  • Fundação Edp
  • Porto.
Expo’98 no Porto is a competition which attributes two grants for the development and production of two exhibitions in the Galeria Municipal do Porto in 2019 and 2020.

As a municipal institution, the Galeria Municipal's mission is to present exhibitions that promote a reflection about contemporary artistic and discursive trends. Expo’98 no Porto aims to include within this overall reflection on the role of the Galeria Municipal a project which will strengthen the relationship between the singularity of its programming identity and the city’s artistic and curatorial practices.

Directed at curators and artists residing in Porto during the entire period of design and implementation of the exhibitions, Expo’98 no Porto has a total budget of 98.000 euros. The two exhibitions chosen within the competition will be presented at the Galeria Municipal: the first exhibition, with a 34,000 euros budget , will open in December 2019, and the second exhibition, with a 64.000 euros budget , will open in 2020.

Applications must be sent to from March 1, 2019.


+ info


Daniela Agostinho

Daniela Agostinho is a postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Arts and Cultural Studies at the University of Copenhagen. A PhD in Cultural Studies from the Portuguese Catholic University, she is the author of several international publications on visual culture and feminist theory. She was the curator of the Artists Film International (MAAT, 2017) and the individual of Aimée Zito Lema (Gulbenkian Museum, with Ana Cachola and Luísa Santos, 2018).

Miguel Ferrão
Holds a BA in Painting by FBAUL, a MA in Philosophy-Aesthetics by FCSH-UNL, and currently is a PhD candidate in Artistic Studies - Art and Mediations by the same institution. Since 2010, partners with Eduardo Guerra as Musa paradisiaca, an artistic project shortlisted for EDP Foundation's New Artists Award (2013) and Sonae Media Art Prize (2015). Collaborated as curatorial assistant with ZDB Gallery (2008-2010) and coordinated the programme “Aguêdê-Alê” in São Tomé and Príncipe (2010-2013).

Nuno Faria
Graduated in art history and archeology. He is the artistic director of CIAJG - José de Guimarães International Arts Center, curator and professor at ESAD - School of Arts and Design of Caldas da Rainha.

02.06 — 13.08.2017

Um projecto de acção científica social e política

Contemporary art from more than 90 national and international artists compose Them or Us!, an exhibition of political and social science fiction, in which the future intersects with the past, originating the present and which is guided by the maxim of Russian filmmaker Alexander Sokurov, according to whom “in history, we talk about what happened, in art, we talk about what might have happened”.
Curated by Paulo Mendes, the exhibition relates past and future to present a version of the present, based on the multiplicity of works from various artists from different areas and ideas that were just taken as a definition of the present: an era of free movement, abolition of frontiers, and elimination of walls. Social equilibrium is guaranteed by the triumph of a society based on consumerism and speculative wealth, and that this is the end of history.
Them or Us! presents a conceptual machine which uses the idea of the “invader” in its various possible formulations, the creation of fear of “the other” - resulting from invasion of national territories by refugees, terrorists or tourists, and biological invasions via new viruses, contaminations, and contemporary mutations that are altering the original, primitive body.

Designed and Curated by:
Paulo Mendes

Graphic Design:
Joana Pestana, Paulo Mendes 

Museu Militar do Porto, Regimento de Transmissões do Porto, Museu de Anatomia, Instituto de Ciências Biomédicas Abel Salazar, Museu da Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto

Alberto García-Alix, Alexandra Moura, André Alves, André Cepeda, André Trindade, Andres Serrano, Angela Bulloch, Ângela Ferreira, Antoni Muntadas, António Areal, António Caramelo, António Júlio Duarte, António Melo, António Olaio, António Palolo, Arlindo Silva, Axel Stockburger, Carlos Correia, Cory Arcangel, Christian Andersson, Christian Boltanski, Christopher Williams, Cristina Mateus, Daniel Barroca, Didier Fiúza Faustino, Eduardo Batarda, Eduardo Matos, Erwin Wurm, Estelita Mendonça, Fernando Brito, Fernando Brízio, Fernando José Pereira, Fernando J. Ribeiro, Filipa César, Francisco Queirós, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Haim Steinbach, Horácio Frutuoso, Hugo Canoilas, Hugo de Almeida Pinho, Ignasi Aballí, Igor Jesus, Jérémy Pajeanc, João Biscainho, João Ferro Martins, João Maria Gusmão e Pedro Paiva, João Marçal, João Onofre, João Pina, John Baldessari, Jonathan Monk, Jorge Molder, Jorge Lourenço, José Almeida Pereira, Juan Araújo, Julião Sarmento, Lara Torres, Lawrence Weiner, Leonor Antunes, Luís Paulo Costa, Mafalda Santos, Manuel Santos Maia, Maria Trabulo, Max Frey, Miguel Palma, Miguel Soares, Mike Kelley, Nikolai Nekh, Norman McLaren, Nuno Pimenta, Nuno Ramalho, Patrícia Almeida, Paulo T. Silva, Pedro Tudela, Pierre Candide, Renato Ferrão, Rita Castro Neves, Rodrigo Oliveira, Rogério Ribeiro, Rogelio López Cuenca, Rosa Ramalho, Rosângela Rennó, Rui Manuel Vieira, Rui Toscano, Ryan Gander, Stefan Brüggemann, Taryn Simon, Tiago Alexandre, Tito Mouraz, Von Calhau, Yonamine.